Mashed potato cake

20140127-000011.jpgGiven my previous culinary mishaps this weekend (boulder-like breakfast muffins, missing ingredients, misjudged replacements, completely forgetting one of only two steps in making tahini) I was reluctant to embark upon making a cake that includes 300g of cold mashed potato. I could see something going wrong here, at the very least biting into a cake that is basically mashed potato.

But there are redeeming qualities to this recipe, notably the lime and passion fruit parts of it. And, it’s gluten free. Or it was until my Dad came in the kitchen and cried out in disappointment that I was making something gluten free (“I’m a glutton for gluten” he said) so I substituted a token amount of plain flour in.

20140127-000019.jpg20140127-000033.jpg20140127-000027.jpgAnyway, these are the ingredients

150g very soft butter
150g soft brown sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
The pulp of 2 passion fruits
300g cold mashed potato!
200g ground almonds
2 tsp of gluten free baking powder (I can’t see why anyone would actually bother with this, I think the normal kind is fine)
Zest of 2 limes

For the icing:
175g icing sugar
Juice of 1 lime
Pulp of 1 passionfruit

20140127-000041.jpgBeat the butter and sugar till light and fluffy and gradually add the egg. Then mix in the passionfruit, lime zest and mashed potato.

Since I was averse to the mash thing anyway I couldn’t be bothered to let mine cool, I just piled it in the mixture whilst steaming hot so that it melted everything else. I don’t know that that matters except it looked disgusting.

20140127-000049.jpg20140127-000055.jpg20140127-000104.jpgFinally, fold in the ground almonds and baking powder. I added a pinch of salt too because I thought the batter tasted a bit bland.

Put the batter into a lined and greased 20cm springform cake tin, or something thereabouts and cook at 180c for 1h – 1h15. It might need a bit of foil on top near the end to stop it burning.

For the icing, the recipe said to put the lime juice, passionfruit and icing sugar over a barely simmering pan of water and let it melt together. I did this but didn’t see any difference to just mixing normally. Maybe I did it wrong. I alsocould have used a bit more icing sugar but ran out so my icing was on the thin side.

Thankfully when I cut into the finished cake, there was no sign of the mash. It was just really moist and delicious. Even the gluten glutton loved it.

Recipe from The Guardian supplement Cook.

20140127-000109.jpg

A more photogenic finished cake than mine [The Guardian]

Leave a Reply

